10 Finalists emerge in AMAA 2014 media recognition award

A Constellation of Stars

Ten journalists some of whom have covered the Africa Movie Academy Awards in the last 10 years have emerged as the finalists in the Media Recognition Awards. The recognition awards was designed to celebrate journalists in Africa who have helped to project the awards and the motion picture industry to the rest of the world.

The media awards, which carries $10,000 prize money, will be shared among the three clear winners and two consolation prize will also be presented. The winners will be announced alongside the AMAA’s People’s Choice Awards that will be held at a later date in June 2014.

AMAA’s media recognition awards three-man committee was coordinated by Steve Ayorinde, the Chairman of AMAA 2014 Jury. Other members of the screening panel for the media award were Thisday newspaper columnist, Onoshe Nwabuikwu, and Dr. Ifeoma Amobi of the Department of Mass Communication, University of Lagos.

The 10 finalists and their nominated entries include Businessday’s Funke Adetutu, The Peace Anyiam-Osigwe on a show beyond the continent; Sunday Tribune’s Akintayo Abodunrin, Catalyst to greatness: How AMAA aided their rise to the top; Businessday’s Daniel Obi, African Film Industry, AMAA and FDIs; National Mirror’s Terh Agbedeh, Nigerian film industry regains credibility at AMAA; and Punch’s Akeem Lasisi, Thumbs up for Figurine on a night of perfect picture.

Others include Guardian’s Chuks Nwanne, At 10, AMAA rolls the drum for mother Africa; E24-7’s Biodun Kupoluyi, Night of AMAAzing performances in Bayelsa; Nolly Silver Screen’s Isabella Akinseye, AMAA: A decade of uniting, celebrating and rewarding African filmmakers; a Kenyan, Njenga Micugu from Nairobi Digest, also made the list with the entry, African film should go digital to discover more Lupitas; and from the broadcast media is Collins Ukaonu, whose interview in Reel Nollywood on Galaxy Television made the list.

There are no comments

Add yours

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.