The GIAMA 2014 nominees are here

The GIAMA organization has officially released the nominations for the 2014 GIAMA. According to the GIAMA Jury, this year’s production in African Cinema was very competitive as filmmakers depicted inner complications of the human mind in the execution of the various movies submitted for review.

The 2014 GIAMA Award will hold in Houston Texas at the Stafford Centre. While voting for the two categories under viewer’s choice, begins on AUG 15 and ends on AUG 31; to vote, click here.

Here are the nominees:

Best Motion Picture

A Mile from Home


Being Mrs. Elliot



Dining with a long spoon


Best Drama

Murder at Prime Suites

Sisters at War

Black Silhouette

Knocking on Heaven’s Door


Dark Side

A Mile from Home


Best Film (Indigenous)




30 Days in Atlanta



Best Film (Comedy)


30 Days in Atlanta

Visa Lottery

A Wish

Nkasi the Village Fighter

Airline Babes


Best On-Screen Duo

Rita Dominic & Joseph Benjamin – Iyore

Ayo Makun & Ramsey Nouah – 30 Days in Atlanta

Belinda Effah & Kanayo O Kanayo – Apaye

Clarion Chukwurah & Mercy Johnson – Hustlers

Nadia Buari & Jim Iyke – The Diary of Imogen Brown

Uche Jombo & Patience Ozokwor – After the Proposal

Tope Tedela & Chiedozie Nzeribe – A Mile from Home


Best Actor

Nonso Diobi – Last Three Digits

Joseph Benjamin – Iyore

Bob Manuel – Dining with a long spoon

Ramsey Nouah – 30 Days in Atlanta

Kalu Ikeagwu – Accident

Kanayo O. Kanayo – Apaye

Majid Michel – Being Mrs. Elliot


Best Actress

Nse Ikpe Etim – Purple Rose

Rita Dominic – Iyore

Chioma Akpotha – Accident

Omoni Oboli – Being Mrs Elliot

Jackie Appiah – Sisters at War

Ini Edo – Nkasi the village fighter

Clarion Chukwurah – Apaye


Most Promising Actor

Daniel Lloyd – Stripped

Prince Mingle – Diary of Imogen Brown

McCarthy Nonwani – Chetanna

Shawn Faqua – Lagos Cougars

Tope Tedela – A Mile from Home

Blossom Chukwujekwu – Knocking on Heaven’s Door

Emor Ekpenyong – Make a Move


Most Promising Actress

Sylvia Udeogu – Dark Side

Sonia Ibrahim – Number One Fan

Ivie Okujaye – Black Silhouette

Grace Johnson – All that Glitters

Adesua Etomi – Knocking on Heaven’s Door

Diana Yekini – Lagos Cougars

Kafui Danku – Devil in a Dress


Best Supporting Actor

Femi Jacobs – Dreamwalker

Uti Nwachukwu – Don’t Cry for me

Wale Adebayo – Make a Move

Frederick Leonard – Accident

Ayo Makun – Being Mrs. Elliot

Eddie Watson – Sisters at War

Anthony Monjaro – After the Proposal


Best Supporting Actress

Ebere Okaro – Chetanna

Belinda Effah – Apaye

Susan Peters – Don’t Cry for me

Roselyn Ngissah – Purple Rose

Okawa Shaznay – Sisters at War

Uru Eke – Dining with a Long Spoon

Tana Adelana – Dreamwalker


Best Comedic Act

Patience Ozokwor – After the Proposal

Lepacious Bose – Being Mrs. Elliot

Ini Edo – Nkasi the village fighter

Mercy Johnson – Hustlers

Eniola Badmus – Airline Babes

Bishop Umeh – Visa Lottery

Ayo  Makun – 30 Days in Atlanta


Best Screenplay

30 Days in Atlanta

Last Three Digits


Black Silhouette

Dinning with a long spoon

Make a Move 


Best Director

Eneaji Chris EnenG – Murder at Prime Suites

Teco Benson – Accident

Frank Rajah  – Iyore

Omoni Oboli – Being Mrs. Elliot

Desmond Elliot – Apaye

Robert Peters – 30 Days in Atlanta

Eric Aghimien  – A Mile from Home


Producer of the Year

Eric Aghimien – A Mile from Home

Juliet Ibrahim – Number One Fan

Frank Rajah & Kwame Boadu – Iyore

Abdul Salam – Sisters at War

Emem Isong – Apaye

Omoni & Nnamdi Oboli – Being Mrs. Elliot

Ayo Makun & Dr. Kulah – 30 Days in Atlanta


Best Edited Film

Being Mrs. Elliot



One Last Word

Murder at Prime Suites

A mile from home


Best Cinematography

Murder at Prime Suites


30 Days in Atlanta

Dining with a long spoon

A Mile from Home

My African Wedding

Black Silhouette


Best Sound

Make a Move

Knocking on Heaven’s door



A Mile from Home

Number One Fan

Being Mrs. Elliot


Best Costume

Murder at Prime Suites




Make a Move

Destiny Child

Lagos Cougars


Best Makeup

A Mile from Home

Number One Fan


Last Three Digits


Murder at Prime Suites

One Last Word


Special Recognition

Lynn Whitfield – 30 Days in Atlanta



Best Film – Diaspora

Fall Guy


Faces of Love


Brides War


Best Film Director – Diaspora

Akim Macauley – Ekei

John Uche – Captive

Obed Joe – Fall Guy

Robert Peters – Faces of Love

A.B Sallu – A Message to Brian

Matt Lillard – Punch Rolla


Best Actor /Most Promising Actor – Diaspora

Mohammed Bah – Fall Guy

Eno Williams – A Message to Brian

Raz Adoti – Faces of Love

Moses Efret – Brides War

Kayode Akinbayo – Punch Rolla

Ken Monnette – The Storm


Best Actress /Most Promising Actress – Diaspora

Edith Pikwa Boma – A Message to Brian

Laurene Noire – Captive

Syr Law – Faces of Love

Stephanie Maa – Ekei

Melissa Determined – Brides War

Bessy Ikem – American Mama



Male Viewer’s Choice

Uti Nwachukwu

Majid Michel

Chris Attoh

Joseph Benjamin

John Dumelo

Alex Ekubo

Yemi Blaq

Eddie Watson


Female Viewer’s Choice

Yvonne Nelson

Ini Edo

Jackie Appiah

Mercy Johnson

Uche Jombo

Nse Ikpe Etim

Tonto Dikeh

Yvonne Okoro

There are no comments

Add yours

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.